Jaguar Racing

In 2016 Panasonic Jaguar Racing announced its return to global motorsport as the first premium manufacturer in the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, confirming its electric future. In the two years since, they have become one of the leading teams both on and off the track. The 2018/19 season will see Jaguar’s commitment to electrification and the series grow as the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY - the world’s first production battery electric vehicle race series – debuts.


Media Jaguar Racing

Season 6, Launch

The Championship

ABB FIA Formula E is the world’s first global championship for electric single-seater racing cars. Championing a sustainable future with the development of electric vehicle technology. The series is completely unique, with races taking place on temporary street circuits in the world’s most iconic cities. The 24 car grid is made up of 12 teams and an unprecedented nine car manufacturers and some of the world’s most competitive drivers.

To cap costs, the chassis is made by Dallara and a standard battery is engineered by McLaren Applied Technologies, leaving the teams to develop their own powertrains – including key components like the motor, invertor and gearbox. This allows teams like Panasonic Jaguar Racing to be at the forefront of electric vehicle technology and development which can be applied to future Jaguar road cars.

In 2016, Jaguar became the first premium manufacturer to join the Formula E. For its inaugural season in the championship, the team signed Adam Carroll and New Zealander Mitch Evans to the team. For its second season, the team drafted in inaugural ABB FIA Formula E Champion, Nelson Piquet Jr. to partner Mitch Evans, finishing the 2017/18 season in sixth place. In the 2018/19 season, having driven for the team for three years, Mitch Evans achieved the team’s first Formula E win at the Rome E-Prix in April 2019 – Jaguar’s first international motorsport victory since 1991. Driving alongside Evans was British driver, Alex Lynn, who joined the team halfway through the season, replacing Nelson Piquet Jr.

Heading in to the 2019/2020 season, Mitch Evans and Briton James Calado will be piloting the Jaguar I-TYPE 4, hungry for more points, podiums and wins.

Jaguar I-TYPE 3 and I-PACE eTROPHY on track
Jaguar I-TYPE 3 and I-PACE eTROPHY on track
Why Formula E?

Jaguar has an enviable motorsport history, winning the famous Le Mans 24 Hours seven times – more than any other British manufacturer. Through competition, Jaguar has developed new technologies, including pioneering the use of the disc brake in racing.

Jaguar Land Rover has made a commitment that from 2020 all new model lines will be electrified, with either hybrid or battery technology, with the launch of the Jaguar I-PACE in 2018 the first phase of this project. Formula E provides Jaguar with a real-world performance test bed for Jaguar Land Rover to develop its future EV powertrains, pushing the boundaries of electric technology in an intensely competitive, high performance environment.

It is my belief that over the next five years we will see more changes in the automotive world than in the last three decades. The future is about being more connected and more sustainable; electrification and lightweight technologies are becoming more important than ever as urbanisation continues to increase. Formula E has recognised and reacted to these trends and the championship's exciting and pioneering approach is the perfect fit for our brand.

Nick Rogers
Group Engineering Director

After entering Formula E in 2016, Jaguar created the world’s first electric touring car race series for a production battery electric car. The Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY is the support series for the ABB FIA Formula E Championship, taking place on the same weekends at the same city circuits.

Exclusively featuring Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY racecars, the all-electric series established racers a chance to showcase their talent, competing on the world stage in zero-emissions motorsport. After making history in the inaugural season, the groundbreaking championship will see up to 20 identical Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY racecars on the grid in 10 races, across eight global cities commencing in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia in November. 

New for season two is the introduction of ATTACK MODE providing an extra 20% in torque and power for a specified duration (defined at race) providing increased race strategy and additional overtaking opportunities.

 Season 2, Launch, I-PACE eTROPHY
Season 2, Launch, I-PACE eTROPHY

Season 1, Highlights, eTROPHY

Jaguar returned to the top step of the podium in April 2019. Season six of Formula E is going to be the most competitive yet with nine manufacturer teams. As we head into the second season of the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY we have clearly strengthened our commitment to battery electric vehicles, international motorsport and Formula E. As a British team, we are proud of the world’s first electric touring car championship using the 2019 World Car of The Year to electrify the grid.

Gerd Mäuser
Jaguar Racing Chairman
Fearless Progress

​​​​​​As part of our mission of #FearlessProgress we are looking to establish ourselves as a leader in premium Battery Electric Vehicles to showcase our credentials for innovation in the automotive industry. In Formula E we race without fear of failure and are committed to making progress on and off the track.

 Season 6, Launch, I-TYPE 4
Season 6, Launch, I-TYPE 4

Jaguar are proud to be pioneers in motorsport, stretching all the way back to introducing the use of the disk brake in racing. Electrification is the next chapter of Jaguar’s story and we’re proud to be spearheading that with our participation in electric motorsport. Competing in the ABB FIA Formula E Championship has allowed us to take learnings from the track and benefit our road car capabilities, proven with the launch of the Jaguar I-PACE in 2018. Launching the world’s first all-electric production-based vehicle support series, the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY, is another step in the right direction for Jaguar Racing. We can’t wait to electrify the streets of some of the world’s most iconic cities in our brand new I-TYPE 3 and up to 20 identical Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY racecars.

James Barclay
Team Director, Jaguar Racing

Find out more about Jaguar’s Formula E programme.

Find out more